Pain, beauty, walking and tiredness

It’s been a weird first week of work. Last Sunday, on the train to Kristianstad and Åhus, I got a lumbago, a terrible back pain.

So painful that I cursed and screamed out loud on the train. I could hardly get off with my bag and bike, and because I walked so slowly due to pain, I missed the bus.

Bike, bag and yoga mat on the train

So, my first day of work turned out being a day of sick leave with a visit to the chiropractor  and lots of walking to keep warm and help the healing.

The entire week I’ve been walking, standing, walking and standing as much as possible. I have been working, and managed to do things differently than usual. The pain has been reduced by the day, and I am so grateful for my knowledge of healing, lots of movement, and the good chiropractor I found.

It’s also been extremely tiresome to walk and stand up many hours every day, and not to sleep all that well due to pain.

At the same time it’s humbling and good to be reminded of how privileged many of us are most of the time – healthy and without pain. 

Happy morning work at Haväng, on pain killers

It does feel like a privilege to get to work with such creative and fun things as I do when out reporting live from different parts of Skåne in southern Sweden.

And to be able to take care of myself at the same time.

Friday treat for the train ride to Karlskrona

Anders and I spent the weekend together, talking, swimming, going to a concert, watching movies and eating good food. Did I say talking? And walking.

Never seen purple roses before!

Anyways, now we have started this new way of living – part time together, part time apart. And as we have written before, we usually do pretty well when we have a mix of time together and time apart. It’s hard for some to understand, but I guess it’s also a question about what we view as “normal” or how things “should” be.

Don’t know if we will still find this way of living good in six months – but on the other hand, without trying we will never know!

Got this cute pic sent to me from Anders

So, let’s keep our minds open to what we don’t know, and dare to try different for a while. Maybe we learn something new, get experience we never would otherwise, and find out more about life.

With love, and a little back pain,

Wivan 

Leave a Reply

