The journey has begun

image

Walking with two backpacks

Today I started my journey bound for Denver, Colorado. The plane doesn’t leave until tomorrow, but I’ll be spending the night in Malmö at a friend’s.
It’s been a couple of intense days before leaving Anders and the island this morning. I’ve applied for a part-time job for this coming fall, and getting the application ready has been very stressful. Totally out of my comfort zone to follow the given rules for applying and to manage to update my cv.
The good thing is I made it, and next time it probably won’t be as hard.

image

Grandma choosing cookies

Before getting on the train, I visited grandma and we went out for a “fika” (coffee and a cookie) and did some shopping.

image

Great way to keep track of the passport

Now it’s a three hour train ride, and I am happy to have some tricks to help me organize the packing, especially when doing a stop for a night before flying.

I love my little plastic bag that holds the passport, vaccination card and a pen – very often when traveling one needs to fill out forms, so keeping a pen together with the passport (and later also the boarding card) comes handy.

Before take off I’ll save the address and other details on where I am going, in case that is needed for any paper work, or if it’s needed for transportation. I save those things in a document on my phone, where I can reach it offline and I don’t need to hold on to a bunch of papers.

image

Kitchen cabinet at home

Three weeks away from Anders and our home in Sweden is ahead, and I have mixed emotions about that.
It’s been so great to have a home base since we got back to Sweden, and Anders and I haven’t been apart for this long since last September.

image

Anders and the soap bubbles

Ok, I promise to update during the trip, and let you know what’s cooking in Colorado these days.
Haven’t been there since 2007, but have met with my brother and his family in Sweden instead over those years.

Ciao for now!
//Wivan

Leave a Reply

