Chinatown in Singapore

Took a walk to get to Chinatown this afternoon and after looking on a map in beforehand I felt pretty sure of direction and approximate distance.

image

Yey! Chinatown!

But, what sometimes happens when crossing wide streets and bridges is that the direction gets slightly off… So, I ended up in another park, and after walking through it I ended up walking around a huge construction site…

image

Everywhere shopping

The distance I actually walked surely was a bit further than what the map had shown, and I was sweating in the afternoon sun. But, it’s really good for my minds map of Singapore that I use to get around by foot.

image

Men gathered playing board games

After finally getting in to Chinatown and strolling up and down a few streets, looking at food stalls, shopping streets and centers, I found what I had set out to find: reflexology. I miss the massages I got in Thailand and Bali, so after reading several statements of great reflexology treatments here in Singapore, I really wanted to find a good place at a good price. Chinatown was my best bet.

image

Massage and reflexology heaven

There are many good quality, local style massage and reflexology places on the third floor of People’s Park Complex. I paid 18 Singapore dollars for a 45 minute massage. I have had reflexology a couple of times before, and I would love to say it feels very good and relaxing. Part of the time it does, part of the time it can be very painful. But, I know that my body usually reaponds well to the treatment and how it helps the entire system to heal and reboot, so, I take the good with the bad!

image

Pretty streets in Chinatown

It was a good massage today and I am curious to see what the body feels like tomorrow. Afterwards I found a somewhat more straight way back home, and even got some take-away Indian to bring home for dinner. That too, something I had longed for.

image

Lots of food for $10 (there's more outside the picture)

Take care and treat yourself with lots of kindness!
//Wivan

image

Interesting things to buy

image

Hungry for something special?

image

Chinese medicine store

image

Nice decorations

image

Happy to find a public bathroom

2 thoughts on “Chinatown in Singapore

Leave a Reply

