Look for a new angle

One of my favorite scenes from the animated movie Big Hero 6, is when one of the main characters, Hiro, is swirled and shaken around on the shoulders of his elder brother in an attempt to “shake things up” and “look for a new angle” to solving a problem. Sometimes doing something totally different than sitting at a desk and ‘solving the problem’ is the perfect thing to do.

Today's Skype call with Helena

Today’s Skype call with Helena

Earlier today I had a Skype call with a good friend and Master Mind colleague, Helena, who’s an expert at looking at things from different angles and helping others to see new perspectives. We were going to talk about how we can help each other with a couple of different projects and what actually needs to be done. That was my angle. And when we finished, Helena had helped me see a totally different perspective, and things got so much clearer in my head. (and new questions had started to form too ;-)).

This is also where Helena is a master at “holding a space” for others to be in, in this case me. Because I felt a little lost and ashamed – I “should” know what I’m doing, right!? And I “should” just get it done. But something has held me back and by listening behind my words, Helena helped me see another angle and to actually bring clarity to some thoughts I’ve had over the past few days.

A swim is a great way to change perspective for me

A swim is a great way to change perspective for me

Being held in a space of love means that I can be me, full out, without feeling like I have to guard my human experience.

– Helena Roth –

Still, like a Swedish summer night

Still, like a Swedish summer night

Tonight I also got to see the physical world from a new perspective. The place I had thought of visiting was “taken” by someone else, so I looked for a new place around the corner.

Who would have known...

Who would have known…

... this old house had such a great view!

… this old house had such a great view!

Fajã Grande, Flores

Fajã Grande, Flores

2 thoughts on “Look for a new angle

  1. What a sweet summary of our conversation my dearest friend!
    The fun part about it is that the change of perspective that you found also helped me. As is usually the case, I’ve found.

    And by the way – you are posting pictures of Flores that makes me want to go there right away – magnificently beautiful nature scenes!

Leave a Reply

