Guest blogger: Lucky the Dog

They call me Lucky the Dog, but I prefer using my real titles: Neighborhood Police and Cheerleader In Charge.

On the Jawb outside our house

On the Jawb outside our house

You see, I’m the one who take all the shifts in the neighborhood nobody else wants, and make sure the job gets done. Some of the things I am in charge of:

* Getting all the cats home fast – they should be with their people or wherever they belong.
* Body guarding my humans.
* Traffic control, focusing on odd vehicles like a little red truck and some of the mopeds.
* Keeping cows away from my humans.
* When humans aren’t excited enough, I start the cheer leading, jumping up and down on all four, making funny faces, wag my tail excitedly and do breathing exercises to get them in a good mood.
* Noticing all odd behavior in the neighborhood, like when new people or cars come, if one of the kids run in a wrong way or anything that’s simply not part of our daily routine around here.
* Protecting my humans from any other humans – no one (except for one or two nice people) can come close. Everybody is a threat to my human’s safety. Really, this job is serious.

This person in so SLOW!

This person in so SLOW!

If I were the one to decide for all the dogs on the island, I would throw a huge Bark and Play Fest for everyone, it would be paw changing.

I have my own driver and sometimes I have to shout directions to her from my comfortable back seat

I have my own driver and sometimes I have to shout directions to her from my comfortable back seat

It’s sort of odd though, since about two months I’ve had two foreign humans I attend to. They showed up one day and stayed all this time. Now one of them have left. They must be under some human protection program or something, hiding out here on this island.

Usually, when we don’t have these foreigners here, I make sure to have some hours of calm and quiet around, sending the humans to WOWK – that makes them feel important and useful. Actually, as both you and I know, it’s just a day care center. The people that I’ve been protecting now know it’s a cover and see life as a big day care center anyways, so they call it a “Time Out”. Don’t know if there’s a difference, really.

We had to take one of the humans to the airport

We had to take one of the humans to the airport

Oh, I forgot to tell you about my assistant. She’s small and very energetic, skinny and not as furry as I am (not as pretty either if you ask me) but she does a good job making sure the humans are under constant surveillance. Well, almost. Sometimes we need to sleep and the humans sneak out on their own, but we have lots of dogs that bark as soon as they see them, so it’s all part of my plan.

Ervilhas guarding the human's stuff

Ervilhas guarding the human’s stuff

I’m pretty good at my job monitoring the humans too, keeping them on a lead almost all the time, making sure they get their daily exercise and when they walk to slowly I simply pull them along in the lead they are attached to. Works like a charm!

Exercising a human

Exercising a human

Sometimes, I can be bribed. Just a little. Bread is my weak spot, so if a human comes up with a piece of bread, there is a slight chance my focus on the duties fades for a moment.

I can make humans do anything. Look at this funny picture!

I can make humans do anything. Look at this funny picture!

When I’m off duty I enjoy chilling out in the sun. Often, some silly cat come at those times and I need to do my jawb, helping them get up to speed and run fast home to mommy… If they’re not fast enough I might just taste them, I mean chase them, a little. It’s not safe for cats to move slowly – there can come a car or a monster or something…

Stay pawsome!

Stay pawsome!

Well, it’s been nose meeting you! Maybe I’ll get my paws on this computer again soon.
Until then – remember to wag your tail daily!

// Lucky, NPD (Neighborhood Police District)

Leave a Reply

