Seven months of hair

First days in France, November 2014

First days in France, November 2014

It’s been more than seven months since my last visit at my hairdresser, Kajsa. And when we started traveling in November my hair was quite short. Once during these seven months I’ve had my hair cut by a friend (it costed a kiss on the cheek).

Cairo, in December

Cairo, in December

This obviously means the hair on my head has grown quite a bit, and I haven’t gone this long without paying for a haircut since I don’t know when.

January, on a plane from Istanbul to France

January, on a plane from Istanbul to France

For a while, I thought I was going to get a professional haircut, but since I didn’t really know what to do and how to actually communicate with a French hairdresser in the small village we stayed, I gave up that idea. When we went to San Sebastian in March, I started cutting off my bangs with the nail clippers in the hotel room, after Anders suggested I should comb it differently.

March in San Sebastian

March in San Sebastian

After that I had my hair cut by our friend, just to even everything up a bit.

April, in Flores

April, in Flores

And when we got here to Flores in April, the real fun began. My hair went totally crazy from the humidity, wind and salty ocean water.

Flores in April. Looking like a 70's pop star

Flores in April. Looking like a 70’s pop star

All of a sudden the hair needed to be washed more often, I even e-mailed Kajsa to ask for advice!

Flores in May

Flores in May

Her tips have helped: to was twice with shampoo and then just a little conditioner before rinsing. And to be patient. It has gotten better, but the salty water from our swims isn’t really making the hair look like an ad for styling products!

Flores, in May

Flores, in May

Hair clips are my new best friend, and headbands. And sometimes a cap when it’s sunny (not my favorite, but it works).

After a swim in the Atlantic, May 2015

After a swim in the Atlantic, May 2015

This is just one way of seeing every day life from another angle, how used we are to certain things and how comfortable it is to have a good hairdresser close by, or what happens when you to try and save money by not cutting your hair!

Flores, May 2015

Flores, May 2015

Together with Kajsa, I’ve now decided to let the hair grow longer again. That’ll probably be easier to get cut anywhere and it should be long enough to put it up in a pony tail rather than having the hair literally flying all around the head in the wind. Let’s see how that goes!

Me and some colleges in the summer of 2008

Me and some colleges in the summer of 2008

2 thoughts on “Seven months of hair

  1. Pingback: I Can't Believe I Really Cut It All Off - 25 Inches GONE! - QueenBeeingQueenBeeing

  2. Pingback: Live fully today | Haircut…

Leave a Reply

