Ever changing

How can I be sitting in the sofa with no rush to the next thing in my schedule and still feel stress rising up inside just by recieving some messages on the phone? They say nothing that affects the next couple of hours, nothing that causes problems and aren’t things to take care of. It’s just some nice invitations for dinner and requests for a cup of coffee before we move to Spain in the beginning of November.

View from the sofa, fireplace and all

View from the sofa, with the fireplace and all

How come there’s stress moving around inside at the same time as the fire place heats up the room and the sun is shining outside?

Because our thoughts can drift off so quickly, leaving the body and creating stories around things in the future or the past. So my thinking in the moment creates stress at this time, wheras another time I can be busy as a bee doing a ton of things and yet feel totally calm on the inside – when my thinking is calm.

In our thoughts we can go to any place at any time

In our thoughts we can go to any place at any time

So, for a moment I let my thoughts drift off, creating stories around what those invitations mean, how we’ll be extremely busy with meeting friends and family at the same time as we need to/want to get our packing and cleaning around the house done.

That’s a story I am telling myself. There’s nothing real in it until I make it real by believing every part of it, seeing and feeling the stress and “problems” before it’s even happened.

It’s funny how much of our time we spend creating stories of what life is like and what things mean or don’t mean. We make the whole thing up as we go of what is important and what we trust as real. I know this, and yet I can feel stress in the moment sitting in the sofa. And I also know that my thinking will keep changing, from time to time. So I just accept what I think and what I feel, trusting the ever changing in and of life.

// Wivan

One thought on “Ever changing

  1. Pingback: Live fully today | Did we say “Ever changing”?

Leave a Reply

